Pork Chops and Applesauce

I’m so glad to be back in the cooking mood after being sick with strep for a week. I also just started giving the idea of Whole30 a go. I’m currently on day six of no dairy, grains, legumes, soy, processed sugar and… alcohol. (Let’s just say that last one is going to particularly difficult tonight with all of the St. Patty’s day fun times.) I will say that even though I’ve been crazy tired the last week, I can definitely tell a difference in how I feel.

The biggest hurdle I’ve had to face in the last week is cooking and ending up with something that is really flavorful. Most of the things that I’ve cooked in the last week still need some tweaking before they’ll be blog-post ready. I was starting to get discouraged that I would have to get used to bland food for 30 days until this pork recipe came into my life. I will say it – I have hit whole 30 flavor gold with this one!

photo

Pork Chops with Applesauce
Prep time: 5 min. | Cook time: 15 min.
Serves 2

What you need:

  • 2 red delicious apples
  • 1 c. apple juice (I found an organic apple juice that had only apples as the ingredient for whole30)
  • 1 t. lemon juice
  • 1 inch piece of ginger, peeled
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • handful of organic raisins
  • 2 pork chops
  • 2 T. fat of choice (I used olive oil)
  • 1 t. minced garlic
  • onion powder
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Get the applesauce going first. Chop up your apples into small pieces. Add the apples, juices, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and raisins to a sauce pot.
  2. Cook over medium high heat until a chunky sauce forms, about 10-12 minutes, and stir it occasionally.
  3. Once apples are soft and the sauce has formed, remove it from heat. Since there isn’t a thickener in the juice, I let it cook until there wasn’t much liquid left. If you do that, make sure you keep stirring so you don’t burn it.
  4. While your applesauce is cooking, add your fat to a nonstick pan and heat over medium high heat.
  5. Season both sides of the chops with onion powder, salt and pepper.
  6. When the oil really hot, add the garlic to the oil and give it a stir. Then add the chops to the pan.
  7. Brown the chops for 2 minutes on each side.
  8. Reduce the heat to medium and cook another 5 minutes, turning occasionally, until the chops are done and the juices run clear.
  9. Remove the chops from the pan and let rest for a couple minutes.
  10. Remove the ginger root from the applesauce and pour that amazing sauce over the chops. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

