Brussels Sprouts and Sausage

So, I grew up with my mom boiling frozen brussels sprouts because she loved them. This was the one food that was put on my plate as a kid that I legitimately hated. It finally got to the point where my sister and I would refuse to eat them that she would cook a second veggie on nights she wanted brussels sprouts. I’m 25 and I honestly couldn’t tell you the last time I ate brussels sprouts.

Now that I’m exploring some new recipes that fit the Whole 30 diet that I’m working on, I’m daring myself to cook new foods that I’ve either never had or haven’t eaten before. Brussels sprouts is one of those veggies. This recipe turned out really great! There was a ton of flavor and the lemon juice in the sauce gives the dish enough zing that it hides that kind of bitter taste that the inside of brussels sprouts can have.

Another bonus: This is unbelievably quick and easy. Now, go buy some brussels sprouts and be prepared to be turned to the dark side if you, like me, were not a believer.

P.S. I’ve written the ingredients out as I made it so it is Whole 30 approved. Feel free to get non organic or different brands if you don’t have any diet restrictions.

photo

Brussels Sprouts and Sausage
Prep time: 5 min | Cook time: 15 min
Serves 2

What You Need:

  • 2 c. fresh brussels sprouts, cut in fourths
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1.5 T. lemon juice
  • .5 T. red wine vinegar
  • 1 t. dry ranch seasoning (you can use a packet or make your own – leave out the milk)
  • 1 t. minced garlic
  • 1 slice of Applegate bacon, cut in half
  • 2 Applegate sausages, sliced
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat a skillet over medium high heat. When pan is hot, add the oil, lemon juice, vinegar, ranch seasoning and minced garlic. Give it a stir.
  2. Add brussels sprouts to pan then sprinkle salt and pepper on them. Let cook for a couple minutes then use a spatula to flip.
  3. Add a tablespoon or so of water to the pan then cover and let the brussels sprouts cook until you can stick a fork in them easily. Make sure you stir occasionally so they don’t stick. It’s okay if they get a little crispy, that makes them good!
  4. While the brussels sprouts are cooking, get another skillet going on medium high heat and put your 2 half slices of bacon in the pan.
  5. When the fat begins to render, add the sliced sausage and spread them out so they can all brown.
  6. When the bacon is ready to flip, flip it and all of the sausage to brown on the other side.
  7. Divide the brussels sprouts and sausage evenly between two bowls (and, of course, one piece of bacon per bowl). Enjoy!

*If you want to print the recipe without all the extra internet junk, copy and paste the text into a Word document.*

Leave a Reply

