Easter Project: Bath Fizzies

Since I am trying not to eat all the sugar-filled candies that go along with all things Easter, I decided to make something fun that has a much lower sugar content. These little bath fizzies worked so well (once I got them figured out) and would be an awesome little gift for just about every holiday. Plus, they were crazy cheap to make too and who doesn’t love that!

Check out my failures as a bath-fizzie maker.

Check out my failures as a bath-fizzie maker.

I found a number of recipes on Pinterest and some tutorials on YouTube. They were deceivingly easy based on the instructions but actually implementing the directions was rough. One tutorial I found showed them as making the bath fizzies using a round ornament that comes apart (I used a plastic egg). You basically over fill each side of the ornament with the mixture and then press them together to make a round bath fizzie. Despite my best efforts, I only had about three come out as whole eggs so I gave up on that and made the eggs as halves since I couldn’t get them to stick together (you only need half of an egg for one bath any way).

One tip for success here, don’t try to do this on a rainy day. The humidity will mess with your mixture. Many of the tutorials I found warned me of this and I didn’t heed their warning. It rained the day I did this – might have something to do with why I failed at the “making whole eggs” thing.

 

Bath Fizzies
Time: About 30 minutes

What You Need:

  • Baking Soda
  • Citric Acid (It’s with the canning stuff at Walmart)
  • Epsom Salt
  • Gel Food Coloring
  • Scented Oil (The stuff I used I got from the section by the candles)
  • Water in a spray bottle
  • Mold of some sort
  • Whatever you want to package them (I used clear party sacks, green ribbon, annoying Easter grass and brown paper grocery sacks)

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, mix one part citric acid and one part epsom salt with two parts baking soda. (For example, 1 c. baking soda + 1/2 c. citric acid + 1/2 c. epsom salt.) Make sure it’s completely mixed together. It’s cool to use your hands for all mixing – all of these ingredients are safe!
  2. Add a few drops of your scented oil to the mixture (I used lavender). Use your hands to rub handfuls of mixture between your palms so that the oil is fully mixed in and absorbed. Keep adding drops and repeating the mixing until you’re satisfied with how potent it is.
  3. If you want to make multiple colors like I did, you’ll need to divide this mixture up into different bowls – one for each color. You’ll need room to mix so the bowls need to be big for each color.
  4. Add some gel food coloring to the scented mixture. Repeat the same mixing process as you did with the scented oil until all the color is thoroughly mixed. Keep adding food coloring and mixing until you get the color you want.
  5. Here’s the part that I had to play with until I had a mixture that was sticky enough to stay in my molds. Spritz your mixture with about three sprays of water and mix it with your hands like you have been. It’s okay if you hear some fizzing, just work quickly to get the water mixed in.
  6. Keep adding spritzes of water and mixing until the mixture stays in a clump when you squeeze a handful and drop it into the bowl.
  7. Now that you have your fizzie mixture ready, pack it into a mold. I gave up on trying to get a whole egg so instead I packed it into one side of the plastic egg and also into the other side of the plastic egg then packaged both halves in the same baggie. Any mold you use, just wiggle it a bit and tap it on one end, and your fizzie should slide right out.
Leave a Reply

