Mexican Beef Salad

My sister and I at the Golden Gate Bridge.

My sister and I at the Golden Gate Bridge.

I just got back from spending a week in San Francisco with my little sister and as fun as it was, I am SO glad to be back home. After eating tons of carbs, dairy and sugar after completing a Whole 30 the month before I left, let’s just say that my tummy didn’t have nearly as much fun as the rest of me did. Haha! As soon as I got back, I jumped right back into eating Paleo and mostly Whole 30. (I don’t worry about the alcohol. I’m young and let’s be honest, I do love wine.)

Speaking of California and dairy, I may not eat it but man, this commercial just gets me every single time! Hilarious.

One of my favorite things when I do food prep, is cooking up something that is plain that I can make a ton of, then freeze and cook it into different meals. In order to make this recipe, you’ll need to make a batch of shredded beef. Basically, crock pot on low + 8 hours + 4-5 pounds rump roast + beef broth = shredded beef. Easy peasy.

I had closer to five pounds of beef. I separated it out into three containers to freeze – so I have three potential future meals. Make sure you add the cooking liquid to the containers before you freeze them to ensure the beef stays moist. (What a weird word… “moist”…)

374687_761820809955_203112304_n

Mexican Beef Salad
Prep time: 15 min. | Cook time: 10 min.
Serves 3

What you need:

  • About 2 c. Shredded Beef
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 2 jalapenos, minced – divide
  • 1 small onion, minced – divide
  • 1/4 c. cilantro, chopped small
  • lime juice
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • chili powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 T. fat of choice (I used coconut oil.)
  • 1 T. minced garlic
  • taco seasoning (You can use a packet of taco seasoning but if you’ve got a stocked spice cabinet, it’s cheaper to make your own.)
  • guacamole (I used a Wholly Guacamole 100 calorie pack so I don’t have to worry about my guac getting gross before I get to the leftovers.)
  • spinach

Directions:

  1. Thaw out some shredded beef.
  2. Make the pico de gallo. Cut up and combine the first four veggies in a bowl (only use half the minced jalapeno and onion, reserve the rest for later). Add lime juice, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, and salt and pepper to taste. (Add a little bit, stir, taste. Repeat until you get the flavor you like.) Put it in the fridge to let the flavors party while you make the beef.
  3. Add oil to pan over medium heat.
  4. When oil is hot, add remaining onion and cook until onions are soft.
  5. Add garlic and saute another minute.
  6. Add remaining jalapeno to pan and cook for a minute or two.
  7. Add shredded beef and taco seasoning to pan. Cook until the beef is heated through.
  8. Put your salad together – spinach, beef mixture, pico de gallo, guacamole. Enjoy!

Since you have more beef in your freezer, here are some recipe suggestions! Beef RagoutBBQ Beef Stuffed Potatoes (I’m going to make W30 BBQ sauce and use sweet potatoes. Recipe to come.)

3 thoughts on “Mexican Beef Salad

    • Thanks, mom! It is really easy. If you make the basic shredded beef recipe, it makes enough to make a number of different meals with the same already cooked protein and you can give it different flavors!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Mexican Beef Salad – Purrfect Portions | The Naked Plate

Leave a Reply

