Breakfast Hash

I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned how much I seriously love breakfast hash. It’s been a few months in the making (because believe me, my first go at making hash was a disaster) but I have finally perfected my breakfast hash recipe and it is ready to be shared with my adoring fans! I’ve made a ton of various breakfast has recipes and this one has been a combination of my favorite parts of the ones I have made (and taking into account my ridiculous love for garlic).

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I am about as lazy as they come before about 10 a.m., so as little work as I have to do in the morning in order to shake the hanger (you know, angry because you’re hungry), the better. This recipe will make five good sized portions so I can put them in tupperware on Sunday night and BOOM, breakfast is served every morning with zero effort on my part.

This is a very versatile recipe. If you don’t like any of the vegetables that I’ve put in it, cool. Just chop up whatever you like and toss it in. Easy peasy.

Alright, enough yapping and onto the good stuff…

1004587_774427256535_1073410025_n

Breakfast Hash
Prep time: 10 min. | Cook time: 25 min.
Serves 5

What you need:

  • 1/2 pound spicy sausage (you can use more if you want a meatier hash)
  • 3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 16 oz mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 T. garlic powder
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 2 T. coconut oil (or oil of choice)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a large pan, brown the sausage until fully cooked. Remove from the pan and set aside in a bowl.
  2. Add oil to the already hot pan and let it heat a moment.
  3. Add onions and mushrooms along with the garlic powder, chili powder, and salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Cook until the onions are translucent and mushrooms have released their water.
  5. Add the sausage back to the party and give it a stir. Then add all the sweet potatoes and stir.
  6. Cover the pan and cook for about 10 minutes or until the potatoes are soft.
  7. Taste the hash and adjust the seasonings. (I always end up adding a bit more salt and garlic powder at the end.)
  8. If you’re like me, you can just divide it up into tupperware for the week or you can serve it with eggs!
Leave a Reply

