Green Bean Casserole [with a kick!]

Ah, Thanksgiving. The holiday that will ALWAYS come before Christmas. I’m no Scrooge, but Christmas lights, trees and music do not belong in existence until November 29.

Anyway, green bean casserole is, and will always be, my favorite Thanksgiving side dish that I will inevitably eat three helpings of. It is super easy to make and exceptionally dummy proof, and *bonus* it’s really cheap to make. I’ve spent my college years perfecting the recipe that I take to all of my “Friendsgiving” holiday parties. As always, it was a hit this year!

2

I did a terrible job of ensuring that I had a good picture. When I make this recipe again next week, I’ll be sure to take a picture that isn’t terrible.

Green Bean Casserole
Prep time: 5 min. | Cook time: 30 min.
Serves 5-8 (depending on how much your guests eat!)

**Note: I didn’t measure the seasonings very well so I under-guessed as far as how much of each one goes in. Start with these amounts and then add more to adjust it to your taste.**

What you need:

  •  3 cans green beans, drained (I like French cut)
  • 2 cans cream of mushroom soup
  • 16 oz can French fried onions
  • 3 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 T. red wine vinegar
  • 2 t. garlic powder
  • 2 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. white pepper (or I’m sure black pepper would work too)
  • salt to taste
  • Optional: milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine everything in a bowl and mix it up. Only add 1/3 of the can of French fried onions to the mix. If you want to thin the mixture out a bit (it’s all personal preference here), you can add a tablespoon at a time of milk until you  have a consistency you like.
  3. Bake for 25 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle the rest of the can of French fried onions on top.
  5. Bake for another 5-10 minutes until the onions are browned and the edges are bubbly!
Leave a Reply

